Westward, Ho!

Friday can’t get here soon enough. The Huz and I will be in the car heading west, bound for Arizona. We haven’t been “home” in about a year and a half, which isn’t that long, but things are changing and time does, too. Since moving to the east coast, we have traveled home about once every two years or so. Sometimes it seems like too much, others too little. That said, I miss home.

It’s not my siblings I miss. I do miss my mother and some of my cousins. I definitely miss my best childhood friend and her family, as well as my best Army friend and her family (who we will visit on the return trip). More so, I miss my desert. I miss driving through the desert as twilight comes on, watching the watercolors shift from sky blue to denim to orange and pink to violet, then finally to the giant night sky with the brightest twinkling stars. With all the places I’ve lived, I’ve never seen or loved a sky quite like the Arizona sky over my desert.

My head is swamped with all I need to get done before we load up and yet, all I can seem to do is avoid the house. I need to clean because I hate coming home to a dirty house, but the kids will be home, so I feel like the house wont be clean anyway when we get back, so why bother? I need to pack, but The Huz and I travel light, so I can get that knocked out in less than an hour. I’ve got plenty of work to do for my freelance job and for my home business. PLENTY. And, I’m avoiding. But why?

Since becoming a mother, this will be my first trip to Arizona without children, other than having gone home for two funerals. Those were quick trips and really were no fun. But as far as road trips home, it’s been 23 years since we’ve done this alone. I’m looking forward to the uninterrupted time with The Huz. My guilty pleasure is being with him with no one else. It’s beautiful.

Big things will be happening over the next two weeks: a milestone birthday, a devastating situation a loved one will be facing, reunions, celebrations, highway insanity. I think my mood is what it is because I am having a hard time grasping the enormity of it all. I hope that’s a good thing, maybe?

 

 

Leave a Reply

